Skip to Main Content

History 1971 - 1974

City Council appointed Board of Commissioners George Y. Birdsong. George W. Scott, Rev. M. R. Boone, G. S. Hobbs and Marvin R. Stephenson designating George Birdsong as Chairman and Assistant City Manager C. M. Moyers as Temporary Secretary. The Commissioners met with the Planning Commission to discuss plans for public housing sites, the need for a zoning subdivision and minimum housing ordinances. An Organizational meeting was held on July 6, 1971 and the Bylaws and Seal were adopted. Mr. George Scott was elected Vice Chairman.

In 1974, the City of Suffolk merged with the City of Nansemond City Council and consolidated Nansemond Redevelopment and Housing Authority's and Suffolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority's Board of Commissioners. The new board consisted of George Y. Birdsong as Chairman along with members: David Anderson C. M. Draper, Richard Harrell. G. S. Hobbs. W. E. Moody and Marvin R. Stephenson.